Department of Community and Neighborhoods


Welcome to the Department of Community & Neighborhoods (CAN)

CAN is here to guide and promote the physical and economic development of Salt Lake City. 

The CAN Department is made up of five divisions: Building Services, Engineering, Housing and Neighborhood Development, Planning and Transportation. CAN also houses the Civic Engagement Team, whose role it is to help city staff and public officials better communicate and generate involvement from the community they serve.

Department Administration

Mike Reberg, Director
Vacant, Deputy Director
Brent Beck, Finance and Administrative Services Director
Galina Urry, Administrative Assistant
Telephone: 801-535-6230
Fax: 801-535-6005
City & County Building
451 South State Street, Room 404
PO Box 145486
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-5486