Salt Lake City

Salt Lake City Elected Officials to Take Oath of Office

November victories lead to January swearing-in Ceremony

SALT LAKE CITY – Re-elected City Council Members James Rogers and Erin Mendenhall, and two new Council Members, Chris Wharton and Amy Fowler, will be sworn into office at noon on Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018 at the Salt Lake City & County Building.

The oath of office Ceremony will be held outside on the east steps of the City & County Building. The Salt Lake City Fire Department Choir, the Salt Lake City Police Motor Squad, and Young Eagles Rugby are scheduled to take part in the program. The public is invited to attend the Ceremony, which can also be viewed in Room 326 of the City & County Building, on SLCTV cable channel 17, or from a computer by visiting and clicking on "watch SLCTV live."

In the case of inclement weather, the Ceremony will be held at the Nancy Tessman Auditorium, in the Salt Lake City Main Library, which is the building across the street, east of the City & County Building. The Ceremony will be broadcast live if the event is moved to the Library.

Who: Re-elected City Council Members James Rogers and Erin Mendenhall and new Council Members Chris Wharton and Amy Fowler.
What: Induction Ceremony
Where: City & County Building / Main Library if inclement weather
When: Tuesday, Jan. 2 at noon

Program schedule

Oath of Office Ceremony
Salt Lake City’s Elected Officials
Tuesday, January 2, 2018


Call to Order Stan Penfold, Chair
Salt Lake City Council

Flag Ceremony Salt Lake City Police
Motor Squad

National Anthem Salt Lake City Fire
Department Choir

Welcome Stan Penfold, Chair

Administration of the Oath of Office

James Rogers, Council District One
Administered by Jon Rogers, Notary Public

Chris Wharton, Council District Three
Administered by Justice Paige Petersen, Utah Supreme Court

Erin J. Robinson Mendenhall, Council District Five
Administered by Cindi Mansell, City Recorder & Notary Public

Amy N. Fowler, Council District Seven
Administered by Justice Deno Himonas, Utah Supreme Court

Cultural Performance Maori Haka
Young Eagles Rugby, Coach Lars Moleni

Closing Remarks Charlie Luke, Vice Chair
Salt Lake City Council

Other Notes

• For parking, enter the Library parking garage on 400 South. Free until 2 p.m.
• 200 East will be closed to vehicular traffic.
• Accessible via UTA TRAX - Library Station
• Accessibility options include golf carts at various locations. For other ADA accommodations, please contact the City Council Front Office at 801.535.7600